Strong, Experienced Colorado Springs DUI Defense Attorneys
Driving under the influence of alcohol is the most common criminal offense in the United States. Yet it is almost always committed by a non-criminal – an otherwise respectable citizen who has never been in trouble with the law.
The biggest mistake is treating DUI or DWAI as a glorified traffic offense, instead of the serious legal matter it is. Many defendants turn to their family lawyer or business attorney, who may not be qualified to defend a drunk driving case.
We Know What’s at Stake – And How to Defend You
If you were arrested for drunk driving in the Colorado Springs area, call Gasper Law Group immediately at 719-227-7779. The Attorneys at The Gasper Law Group have helped hundreds of clients keep their license, stay out of jail and avoid the harshest consequences.
- You have just seven days from arrest to request a DMV license suspension hearing. If you miss this deadline, you cannot get a restricted permit to drive to work.
- If you are a member of the military, a truck driver or a licensed professional, your career may be in jeopardy.
- If you are under age 21, the threshold for drunk driving is lower and license suspension is longer. We handle all underage drinking offenses.
- You may be eligible for diversion programs to avoid a conviction on your record, but you have to watch your step on drunk driving probation.
- Our legal team knows how to fight your drunk driving case, from questioning the traffic stop to challenging the physical evidence.
First Time DUI? Repeat Offense? We Can Help.
Drunk driving defense lawyer Allen Gasper has 10 years of experience in courts of El Paso County and neighboring counties. He will sit down to explain your rights, the possible consequences for conviction, and what will help or hurt your case. He knows the area prosecutors and judges – where there is room to negotiate a favorable outcome to limit the jail time and impact on your life.
Reach us 24/7 for a free initial consultation.
Potential Consequences of DUI
Below are the statutory penalties for a straight conviction, which we always seek to avoid. If we can’t get your case dismissed, we aim for a deferred sentence or a plea to a lesser offense such as reckless driving. If the prosecutor won’t budge, we are prepared to take your case to trial to protect your freedom, your license and your reputation.
DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol) is charged if your blood-alcohol content is .08 or greater. DWAI (driving while ability impaired) is a lesser offense if your BAC is .05 or greater and there is evidence of intoxication. DUID (driving under the influence of drugs) is driving while impaired by any controlled substance – including prescription medications.
Drunk Driving Penalties (as of July 1, 2002 under C.R.S. 42-4-1301)
DUI, Habitual User, Per Se
5 days - 1 Year, the court can suspend all jail with alcohol evaluation and Level I or II; and 48-96 Hours of Useful Public Service (UPS)
(7)(a)(II) applies to the following:
Conviction for DUI, Habitual User, Per se, and previous conviction for DUI, Habitual User, Per se, Vehicular Homicide, Vehicular Assault or Driving Under Restraint DUI, DWAI or Per se when Blood Alcohol Content is greater than .20
90 days - 1 Year, the court can suspend 80 Days, if: 1. Alcohol Evaluation 2. Completes Level I or II 3. Abstaining for 1 Year 4. Monitored by treatment facility; and 60-120 Hrs. Useful Public Service
DUI, Habitual User or Per se and previous conviction for DWAI
70 days - 1 Year, the court can suspend 63 Days; if: 1. Alcohol Evaluation 2. Completes Level I or II 3. Abstaining for 1 Year 4. Monitored by treatment facility; and 56-112 Hrs. Useful Public Service
2-180 days, the court can suspend all jail with alcohol evaluation and Level I or II; and 24-48 hours UPS
2nd or subsequent DWAI
45 days - 1 Year, the court can suspend 40 days, if: 1. Alcohol Evaluation 2. Completes Level I or II 3. Abstaining for 1 Year 4. Monitored by treatment facility; and 48-96 Hrs. Useful Public Service
DWAI and Previous Conviction for DUI, Habitual User, Per se, Vehicular Homicide, Vehicular Assault, or Driving Under Restraint
60 Days - 1 Year, the court can suspend 54 days, if: 1. Alcohol Evaluation 2. Completes Level I or II 3. Abstaining for 1 Year 4. Monitored by treatment facility; and 52-104 Hrs. Useful Public Service