Gasper Law Group has practiced law in Colorado Springs for nearly 20 years
To set up a FREE initial consultation with our office to discuss your case, you can call our Colorado Springs Lawyers at (888) 744-0288 or complete our contact form.
The only proof needed for divorce under Colorado law is that the marriage is “irretrievably broken.” Fault is not usually considered a factor in divorce.
If a divorce occurs with both parties agreeing on all points such as property division, child custody, and child support, then the divorce is considered an uncontested divorce. However, if any of these or other circumstances related to the marriage are in dispute, it becomes a contested divorce.
Many types of restraining orders may be filed in relation to divorce proceedings. It is important to know the difference and speak to an attorney if you have questions.
Learn how divorce in Colorado typically progresses and what to expect during each stage.
You may have many reasons to seek an annulment of a marriage rather than a divorce, but there are certain criteria that must align in order to qualify.
When businesses, property, and other valuable assets are involved in a divorce, complications may arise that require help from a high asset divorce attorney.
Military divorce in Colorado has some special considerations that civilian divorce might not, such as circumstances relating to duty stations and what to do about healthcare benefits.
Read frequently asked questions and the answers about common divorce and family law matters in Colorado
Colorado Family Law Information
Colorado is an equitable distribution state, meaning the property is divided in a way that is fair rather than “equal.” A number of factors come into play to make that determination.
Sometimes couples choose a legal separation if they are unsure if they want to end a marriage or they cannot for religious or other reasons.
Often referred to as a “prenup,” a prenuptial agreement outlines asset division if the marriage does not last and ends in divorce or annulment.
If parents are separated, divorced, or unmarried, one of the parents is expected to contribute financially to the well-being of the child(ren) through child support payments until they turn 19 years old.
Rather than focus on custody, Colorado law stresses parenting time and decision-making responsibility in the relationship between parents and children in families where the parents are separated, divorced, or unmarried.
Establishing parentage is important to determine parenting time, decision-making responsibility, and child support regardless if the parents are separated, divorced, or were never married.
Alimony, referred to as spousal maintenance under Colorado law, allows one ex-spouse to provide financial support to the other either until they are either able to support themselves through employment or they remarry. Many factors can be at play when determining if alimony will be awarded, and no two cases are completely the same.