Colorado DUI Probation

Contact us for a consultation

In Colorado, individuals who have been convicted of a DUI will face mandatory probation. For first-time DUI convictions, the probationary period is 1-2 years. Those who have been convicted of multiple DIUs often have a longer probationary period of 2-4 years. Probation is always circumstantial, and the length of the probationary period is dependent on the case.

If you are convicted of drunk driving (or other crimes) in Colorado Springs, the judge may impose probation instead of jail time. If you are eligible for a diversion program or deferred sentence, your case will eventually be dismissed if you adhere to the court’s terms. Violating your DUI probation or diversion requirements will land you back before the judge – and possibly in jail.

Types of DUI Probation

In Colorado, there are two types of DUI Probations two types of probation:

  1. Supervised probation – requires meeting with a probation officer, and is generally given to repeat DUI offenders.
  2. Unsupervised probation – does not require meeting with a probation officer, and is generally given to first-time offenders

Usually, individuals convicted of a DUI in Colorado will be required to undergo mandatory supervised probation. The period of time that probation will last depends on the circumstances of the case, state law, and judicial discretion. For first-time DUI offenders, the probation period generally lasts for one to two years. For repeat offenders, the probation period can be longer and ranges from between two and four years.

Colorado DUI Probation Requirements

Specific requirements for DUI probation in Colorado will dependent on the case, but probation may include several or all of the following mandatory requirements based on the case:

  • Monthly probation meetings supervision fees
  • Sobriety testing (urine and/or breathalyzer testing) during the probationary period 
  • Admission and required attendance to a drug or alcohol treatment program
  • Admission and required attendance to a DUI class
  • Regular reporting to a probation officer
  • Community service 

A judge may impose any of the above in exchange for staying a jail sentence or entering a DUI diversion program. If you violate these terms, you will have to appear in court for a probation revocation hearing. The judge can revoke probation and send you to jail. Depending on the severity of the case, the DUI probation period may include any combination of the above, along with their associated out-of-pocket costs. If probation requirements are not met, an individual’s license may be subject to further suspension or revoking.

Colorado Judicial Branch for other probations FAQs and resources.

If you are convicted of drunk driving (or other crimes) in Colorado Springs, the judge may impose probation instead of jail time. If you are eligible for a diversion program or deferred sentence, your case will eventually be dismissed if you adhere to the court’s terms. Violating your DUI probation or diversion requirements will land you back before the judge – and possibly in jail.

The experienced DUI attorneys of the Gasper Law Group advise on what you need to do to comply with probation. We know the common pitfalls that get people in trouble. We can also help if you falter, so that you don’t pay the ultimate price for a moment of bad judgment or an honest mistake. Our criminal defense law firm represents clients in Colorado Springs, El Paso County and surrounding jurisdictions of Colorado. Call 719-227-7779 for a free consultation.

Contact us for a consultation